Updating apps on Android

bstryd

May 9, 2012
Visit site
I'm moving over to Android from WebOS with the EVO 4G LTE - finally putting the original Pre to rest. But I was wondering about app updates. In WebOS, it was pretty smooth with notifications and options to update all at once. This even included homebrew or third party apps through the Preware site - very cool. So how does that work on Android? Do I have to go chase them down?

Any help and info appreciated. And - boy - am I gonna seriously miss wireless charging. I can't believe I've been using TouchStones for over 2 years and nobody else has anything. Sad.

Anyway - thanks for giving this newbie some insight.

anon(94115)

Banned
Nov 29, 2010
Visit site
Yes and no on the updates. You generally get an update alert when you go into the market, go to my apps, then updates, update all.

Homebrews you generally have to track yourself.

Wireless charging exists for android, just not the Evo

digmys

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site
you can set it to update apps automatically, even set it to only update auto over wifi, or any connection. you get a notification while they are updating.

But if the apps permissions change with the new update, you will have to go to the market and update those manually (you get a notification) and can still click 'update all' to update all of those. This is so you can approve the new permissions.

Krasin

Nov 14, 2010
Visit site
The page will look like this and there will be a separation up top with any app with an update. Its very simple.

ImNoPrince

May 7, 2012
Visit site
When I switched to the OG EVO and left the Pre the Touchstone was the only thing I really missed as I had them in my Cars as well. the Evo has a nice Dock so I just got a few of those it's drop in so not having to plug in was still not bad. I hope they have something similar for the LTE.