Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Exclamation AOSP, Kernals, and battery life

I am fairly new to this scene.

I recently got an EVO and decided I hated Sense so I went looking for a stock ROM. Light and fast. I have tried Cyanogenmod7 and Salvage Mod. The thing is, the battery life I am getting with these ROMs is awful. Cyanogen I was losing 20% an hour with the screen off, the phone untouched. Salvage Mod, I am down to 85% in an hour and a half.

I have read about kernals and how they can help with battery life, speed up performance, etc. What are some that I should look into using and how do I go about applying them? Is there a failsafe if its a bad flash?

Also since Sense feels so slow and bloated (to me at least) what are some other good AOSP ROMs out there? That have a little more to it but is not loaded down with unnecessary tools I will never use.

Default Re: AOSP, Kernals, and battery life

check out these 2 links for available ROMs.

I heard the Deck rom is good, but I haven't tried to root/flash my EVO yet

Android Candy: HTC EVO 4G Custom ROM List
    HTC EVO 4G Android Roms
    Thanked by:
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Thats where I found the ROMs. Now just need to figure out Kernals, other ROMs that work well, and how to apply Mods like Viper, V6, and kernals.

Thanks for the links though!

Global Posts
    14 Global Posts

I'm new to root on Evo (tho had root on Nexus One for a while).
    Using CM7, Tiamat_Evo-v4.0.6-sbc kernel.
    Native CM underclocking max to 768MHz.
    Vipermod undervolting by 50.