New to Rooting, how can i change ROM's..

mikearoni

Oct 18, 2010
Visit site
I just rooted for the first time last night and flashe MIUI. I like it so far but maybe late i might want to try another ROM. how can i switch ROM's?

jsgraphicart

Aug 23, 2011
Visit site
Im using the Eclipse ROM. Its the first one I used so I havent switched ROMS yet. I want to try the cyanogen ROM when it finally becomes available for the Droid X2 so I also would like to know if you have to do a full wipe and start from scratch or just clear data and cache. I think it depends on the ROMS and is probably always best to start from scratch. But Im new to this too.

rcb213

Jul 16, 2011
Visit site
ok first thing you have to do is make a backup, its as easy as going into ROM MANAGER and scroll down to "backup Current Rom" it will send you to recovery and start making the backup (backup is if anything goes wrong your not screwed)

to change roms just go to recovery and just do these steps ,
Factory/settings wipe --->> partition wipe --->> davlik cache wipe( in advanced column) --->> install zip from sdcard --->> choose zip from sdcard and click on the rom you wish flash and install it. after its done go back to the screen where reboot now is available .

if it takes longer to start up its because its letting the rom settle in,
thats basically what you need to do :)

Last edited:

MEZOCLONE

May 6, 2011
Visit site
If you're currently using rom manager you can select download rom and choose a rom of you're liking and it will give you the option to wipe everything which you should do. Rom manager makes it very simple for someone who is new to rooting/flashing....Its great to have the option of refreshing an old phone or prolonging a phone you're bored with....

Pure87

Jul 21, 2010
Visit site