CM7 non-gmail/FB contacts missing

dougefresh_

Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
I'm brand new to rooting, roms, etc. I used gingerbread root 2.3.3, and made a back up before going to CM7 (I also exported my gmail contacts to my laptop, and copied my entire SD card to a folder on my desktop for good measure, lol). All seemed well on CM7... I installed gapps files fine, syched gmail & FB, and got all those contacts back. But I'm still missing a bunch of numbers that don't fall under gmail or FB (one's I just 'plugged in'). What's odd is it's mostly numbers I added in the past year it seems, idk. It's also people I call a lot.

I read this thread: http://forums.androidcentral.com/htc-evo-4g/130743-cm7-contacts-missing.html

And have no problem following it, but I've already done some stuff on CM7, and I'm weary of the back up process. What is the best way to 'prepare' for going back to my 'backup rom,' getting these missing contacts, and then coming back to CM7 with all my stuff intact (apps, theme, etc)?

TIA,

Doug

PS. Is there any dialer app (free or $) that is like the stock one for the Evo 4G? The only thing I miss on CM7 (besides some contacts) is it doing a universal search by first or last name as I type, and going to the most frequently called ones first. I have 732 people in there now (no clue who most are) so this was extremely helpful, and only took 3 letters to pull up the right person. Now calling people is a nightmare, even w/ favorites.

dougefresh_

Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
So I backed up CM7, and restored my backup to gingerbread 2.3.3. All my contacts are back now. I had to uninstall synch to root the phone iirc. I'm not sure I can use that to bring all my contacts back to CM7? What's the best way to bring my non-gmail/FB contacts into CM7?