need help flashing ROM

mikiemike

Apr 4, 2011
Visit site
sorry if this is posted elsewhere, i picked up a rooted EVO 4G from a friend :) He wasn't the one who rooted it, he had it done by some one off craigs list. the home screen has PPCG on it (i'm assuming PPC Geeks) I would like to flash the new CM7 from Cyanogen. do i have to re-root with a certain method to facillitate this? do i need to un-root the phone first?

could somebody point me to a walk through or just plain explain it to me like a third grader? i am new to this but am pretty capable. i just need a step by step.

thanks to all the knowledgable people on AC,

SmokeCrawler

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
You do not have to un-root or re-root to change roms. Just put CM7 on the sd card. Go into recovery. Your rom might have an option for this. Hold down the power button, push reboot and it should have that option. If not it will will boot (of course :)) If that happens then go to your bootloader. Hold down the volume down & power until you get a white screen with androids on skateboards. Click into recovery.

Now you should have a nandroid (backup), if not then you should do one. Just look for it. Its in open view and click backup.

Once done, clear data, cache, and dalvik.

Once done install rom from sd and find the rom and use the power button to click on it.

If you still need help then here is a video showing the whole thing in action.

YouTube - How to flash a ROM and kernel on your HTC Evo 4G

Reactions: mikiemike

mikiemike

Apr 4, 2011
Visit site