Return evo to stock?

Dramer77

Jul 24, 2010
Visit site
hey guys, i just picked up a used evo from a friend and it is rooted and has warm 2.2 on it ... it runs kinda slow and i wanna return it to completly stock.. what is the best and easiers way to do this.. im kinda new to doing all this.. i read the sticky on doing the RUU with htc sync, but i was having some issues .... i think i need to use a data cable instead of a the cable from the sprint quick charger i used.. it didnt seem like it was recognizing the device... i thought about stoping by sprint and getting them to do it.. it has extremely slow quadrant scores, around 1000... seem really laggy loading some stuff

illwood

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
How stock do you want to go? Do you want to give up root or do you want to try a different ROM to see if you like it better?

Also, have you tried a Factory data reset?

eldub1

Jul 7, 2010
Visit site
hey guys, i just picked up a used evo from a friend and it is rooted and has warm 2.2 on it ... it runs kinda slow and i wanna return it to completly stock.. what is the best and easiers way to do this.. im kinda new to doing all this.. i read the sticky on doing the RUU with htc sync, but i was having some issues .... i think i need to use a data cable instead of a the cable from the sprint quick charger i used.. it didnt seem like it was recognizing the device... i thought about stoping by sprint and getting them to do it.. it has extremely slow quadrant scores, around 1000... seem really laggy loading some stuff

Try this first. Get Adfree from the market. Hit "download host name". That should help end the lag.

illwood

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
Try this first. Get Adfree from the market. Hit "download host name". That should help end the lag.

That's a good suggestion to try first.

If you are still unhappy with your rooted phone and the RUU method for returning to stock isn't working for you, go here:
Index of /evo/stock/RUU/