Evo outside?

ihbsbA

May 16, 2010
Visit site
Just curious about the Evo outdoors - I've read many posts with this concern, but haven't heard anyone complain. Does that mean it's easy to see in the sun? Does the screen brightness adjust automatically? (I'm new to Droid)

techgeek32#WN

Oct 16, 2009
Visit site
I have one already and it is better than an OLED screen, but still not great. For example, when I am driving and it is mounted in a car dock on one of my AC vents I can barely see it during the day. Any other time it is great. It is no worse than any other touch screen device except the iPhone which does a little better job in sunlight. Nothing can touch a Blackberry screen in the sunlight but I am willing to put up with it because of the other benefits I get with it.

ihbsbA

May 16, 2010
Visit site
I do have an iPod touch but I usually am indoors with it, so I will take it outside and see how it looks today. I have a BlackBerry and the screen is no problem to see outdoors. Anyone know if there are contrast settings, etc, to make it more vibrant outside?

Caitlyn McKenzie

May 17, 2010
Visit site
I've never seen contrast settings, but there are the usual brightness settings that everything has. And it has an option to allow it to automatically adjust based on lighting conditions.

ihbsbA

May 16, 2010
Visit site
So more, we will be fighting the reflection than the actual inability to read the screen because of the sun? I've ordered Phantomskinz and I guess I'm getting a "matte" finish set with the purchase. I may need/want to use that one to eliminate the glare as long as it doesn't compromise the beauty of the display. I bet that would make a big difference, anyone know about matte skins vs. clear?

npark

Apr 16, 2010
Visit site
Just curious about the Evo outdoors - I've read many posts with this concern, but haven't heard anyone complain. Does that mean it's easy to see in the sun? Does the screen brightness adjust automatically? (I'm new to Droid)