Roaming?

Dr.EVO

May 18, 2010
Visit site
So youll have to excuse me I'm new to the whole smartphone world. Love my evo so far :cool: I see there are settings about data roaming in the wireless networks settings on my evo.. Should I leave the data roaming stuff checked? Is it a good idea to uncheck so i dont get any crazy bills? Thanks for any input evoholics..

DirkBelig

May 17, 2010
Visit site
(To save a new thread, I'm hopping on here.)

I'm going to Toronto this weekend. In case I need to make a call, I add the Canadian Roaming option onto my service the day before and canceling it the day after my trip. Last year, with my Pre, I had a couple of weird instances where my phone suddenly showed as being on Sprint's network though they have no coverage there that I know of. I'd thought I'd turned off roaming, but when I got my bill there was about three dollars worth of data roaming charges though I thought I was offline other than hopping on open wifi hotspots. I got Sprint to take off the charges, but I'd like to prevent going thru the hassle this time.

What do I need to shut off to prevent a repeat with my EVO? I know that all the location-based goodies like Google Maps or Sprint Nav will go bye-bye (have a free-standing GPS for that), but I'd like to be able to ride open wifi points. I'm still puzzled over what happened last year with the sporadic Sprint network hits. I would know when I was on their networks because I'd suddenly get Gmail pushes. Very odd.

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
Does anyone know what is Data Roam Guard?

You get a pop up every time you use data that is considered roaming. Sprint roaming is free. There's no need for this inside the US.

(To save a new thread, I'm hopping on here.)