Contacts Issue (People App)

charlesspivak1

May 5, 2010
Visit site
Ok so this is a small thing but very annoying. I'm not a newbie to Android but by far no expert. My EVO isn't rooted, nor any special "Contacts" apps, just the stock Sense version, and I'm updated to Froyo...the right way (OTA when it officially came out).

So normally when I go to the People app, I can hold down the menu button which brings up the querty keyboard and I can just punch in the start of a name or business or whatever (NOT the actual search function) and it would start listing contacts or businesses that relate, with the selection getting smaller and smaller the more accurately I type the name. Now here's the issue: every once in a while, a gray box appears that takes the place of me trying to search my contacts, but does NOTHING. And the only way to make it disappear (notice I didn't say go away) is if I hold down the back button on the qwerty keyboard. But if I start typing again, it reappears again and I continually can't search for contacts that way as I usually would. Yes, I realize there are other ways to search through contacts and/or other apps to do so as well. But I want to solve this problem because it's frakking annoying. This has been going on through multiple hard resets and even replacing the phone (for other reasons of course, not this one).

Also to add, soft restarting the phone seems to temporarily make this issue go away. But it always comes back. There must be a simple solution!

Suggestions?

And btw, I did scour the forums and didn't see anything like this asked or answered so far.

Gekko

Banned
May 15, 2010
Visit site
1. sounds like you are searching for a key word that's not in a name field?
2. try "power search" in market?

good luck.

charlesspivak1

May 5, 2010
Visit site