Need Recommendations

Kage

Sep 4, 2010
Visit site
Alright, I'm new to Android (had a pre) though I've got a hero in the house I'm familiar with. I've been reading a lot of topics here and now that I've got my evo (currently charging for its first time off the shelf) I'd appreciate some tips and advice.

I already plan to get an Otterbox
The BB associate put Advanced Task Killer on it and said he personally uses it. He also recommended LaunchPro.

Now, I use my phone a lot and want several things out of it. Firstly.. I'd like to be able to use it throughout the day to check my email without it dying. My pre died in less than 8 hours usually. This had a lot to do with bad signal at my work. I have plenty of signal if I roam, but phones naturally look for their own. If there is a way to fix this.. that'd help.

So.. what are the essential apps and set ups?
I know people will have different opinions, but I'm open to them all. I'd rather go off someone's experience than try things out for myself.

Kevin OQuinn

AC Team Emeritus
May 17, 2010
Visit site
I would ditch the task killer. A lot of times they cause more problems than they are worth. Launcher Pro is a personal preference. I would use Sense for a while to see if you like how it works (hint: if you like how the Hero works you'll like the EVO).

Otterbox is a good case, if you need that kind of protection. Check out the accessory section for case reviews and recommendations.

See how the battery life is at first (if you're roaming a lot sorry you will probably die quick). There are plenty of threads here and in the hacks section about battery life.

Caitlyn McKenzie

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Slap the Best Buy employee for touching your phone, and remove the task killer. Just because he personally uses it doesn't mean its right (and since he's a Best Buy employee, his knowledge is essentially none).

Kage

Sep 4, 2010
Visit site