Theme/ROM Help & Questions

zeravla531

Oct 10, 2009
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new to all this. Since we're snowed in again where i am, decided today would be a good day try rooting my phone.

Any suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated.

I like Sense UI and i want my Hero to be as snappy as possible. So far i rooted my phone, created that Nandroid backup and installed the full Gumbo 1.5c. I wanted Sense and Sprint Nav. I then deleted the other Sprint stuff.

Any other suggestions as to what to do would be great.

I am also interested in themes. Is there a site to visit that has a list of popular themes, and maybe some instructions on how to install them?

Thanks!

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
If you're proficient with the adb shell, pull the /system/init.d/gumbo.sh file to your PC. Edit it with a Unix style file editor for Windows (Notepad ++ is great and free). If you get it pulled, post it here and I'll show you some changes you can make to get the phone even faster and explain how to tweak it to get everything possible without crashing SenseUI.

I'm trying to attract some theme developers here, but not much luck so far. For now, look here - Hero Mods, Themes, APK's, Fonts, Lockscreens, Taskbars - xda-developers

zeravla531

Oct 10, 2009
Visit site
I'm not really proficient with it. I just followed the instructions you created to root my phone and put Gumbo on it. By the way thank you for doing all that, it's greatly appreciated. The Gumbo is definitely much snappier than the stock ROM which is great. I was just getting tired of the lag so i decided to try rooting/replacing the ROM to get a better performance. I should be good, i really wouldn't know how to do what you mentioned.

As for the themes, thank you for providing that thread. The only thing i cannot find is out to install it. For instance, i'd like to install the Godzon Onyx blue theme, so after i download it how do i put it on the phone?