Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default [How-To] Root your MT3G

Rooting your MT3G is pretty easy. It can be done using an app you install on your phone.

1. Visit universalandroot from your phone and download the universal Androot application

2. Using a file browser (like Astro on the Market) find the apk file and install it.

3. Once installed, find the Universal Androot app in your app drawer. Open the app, let it find your firmware, press the "Root" button and let it take care of the rest!

One last step you may want to do is install busybox. Search the Android Market for "Busybox by Stephen (Stericson)" and install it. Busybox provides commands like copy and paste to the shell (the inner workings) of your OS.
    ಠ_ಠ
    제리
    Thanked by 2:

Hi there. Thanks for this post. I'm new to Android and rooting. I would like to get a few apps that require rooting my phone. I have the MT3G. I used this app to root my phone. It looks like it goes through he procedure of rooting, reboots the phone but when the phone turns on, it's not rooted. Any suggestions? Thanks

Global Posts
    99 Global Posts

My myTouch is running android version 2.2.1 . will this method still work?

Global Posts
    31 Global Posts

i'm pretty sure it stopped working on 2.2.1.

I have a MT3GS and after i hit root it says rooting ..... and then the phone crashes out and restarts. Not in root. ? any ideas.

Oh, and i can "soft root" but when i go to backup in ROM manager I get the same plain old reboot. I have android sdk and adb installed at home ( thanks to gbhil ) , can i access root through that instead if i cant get the universal androot to work.

thanks

After rooting my mt3g can I use it as a hot spot?

Global Posts
    18 Global Posts
    ROM
    HTC Sense 3.0, 2.3.4 stok

Default Re: [How-To] Root your MT3G