MT4G freezes every time after reboot or factory reset, I'm stuck, please HELP

vess

Jan 1, 2011
Visit site
I am not sure whether I should post this under MyTouch 4G or under Adroid Froyo in general, so please accept my appologies if not in the right place.

Ok, I know I am a noob to android phones and to this forum, but I already spent many hours online researching the problem and didn't find anything that helped.

So, here's what happened:

I got my MyTouch 4G about 2 weeks ago unlocked. I wanted to get rid of a lot of the garbage that came with it, so I followed the steps and successfully rooted it and then removed several of the preinstalled apps with Titanium backup. So far, no noticeable problems.

Then I wasn't happy with how quickly my battery was draining, so I installed Advanced Task Killer, and set it to automatically kill certain apps periodically.

A few days later when I was trying to add a widget to the desktop, I got the familiar to some message "Sorry, com.htc.launcher has stopped working". Everything else was still working fine on the phone. I researched the problem and the first proposed solution to clear the data for the process from Settings/Applications, did not help. The second proposed solution was to do a factory reset. So, I rebooted with volume down + power pressed together and chose factory reset.

After 4-5 min, I got into the welcome screen where I did the initial setup. After this was complete, the phone checked off that everything was setup correctly (apps, widgets, etc). Then it started loading the desktop and the message "loading..." appeared. This is where it froze. :(

Basically, I can't get past the "loading..." message on the home screen, no desktop ever loads, and I have access to nothing other than the camera key.