How to get / make a stock backup before trying CyanogenMod

Ckoonz32

Nov 7, 2012
Visit site
I'm new to android so be gentle when I sound like an *****. I have an AT&T HTC One M8 with Sense and am not liking it. Wishing I had gotten the GPE version. I'm planning on trying CyanogenMod but don't know how to make a backup copy of my stock rom should something go wrong or if I need to reinstall the device to its factory version. I've done some checking but every site I check seems to say something slightly different and none of them give a clear and easy to follow process to accomplish what I need. If anyone can give me some links and or help that would rock.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
You need to make a nandroid backup. That means installing Clockwork Mod Recovery (CWM) or TWRP. I used to use CWM, I use TWRP now and prefer it because of the interface. (They both make usable backups - but I've restored ROMs a few dozen times with TWRP and I feel comfortable that it will work if there's enough free space to make the backup.) You have to choose one or the other, though - one can't read the other's backups.

Then you just back up the ROM, flash Cyanogen, if you don't like it, try flashing some other ROMs and, if you decide that the stock ROM is still the best, restore it from the backup. If not, keep the backup somewhere anyway. You may change your mind, or you may want to sell the phone, and the buyer prefers the stock ROM.