Noob Help - Removing Vodafone branding and installing official HTC firmware

aeropars

Nov 15, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm a noob at this and I cant see anything which will help a noob like me :).
My wife has a HTC One X and its got real problems with the firmware. Its got a lot of crap in it from Vodafone which I want gone so i figured putting the official HTC firmware would at least be a start.

Can anyone help me with a beginners step by step on this? I've searched everywhere but can't find anything out about it.

aeropars

Nov 15, 2013
Visit site
Sorry, I don't mean to be rude but this really doesn't help. I've no idea what that is or how I should use it.
Can you please explain?

aeropars

Nov 15, 2013
Visit site
Ok, I've googled that and its clear thats not what I want to do. I want to put on the official HTC firmware.... not the operator versions which is a variant.

wizzrah

Retired Ambassador
Jul 27, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm a noob at this and I cant see anything which will help a noob like me :).
My wife has a HTC One X and its got real problems with the firmware. Its got a lot of crap in it from Vodafone which I want gone so i figured putting the official HTC firmware would at least be a start.

Can anyone help me with a beginners step by step on this? I've searched everywhere but can't find anything out about it.

If you just want to take off the apps that were installed by Vodafone, you can root it and then use titanium backup from the play store to remove them.

Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk

aeropars

Nov 15, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for the reply. Theres some other reasons too which I hope will be corrected like some previously sent SMS messages get resent after a reboot and very poor battery life after one of the Android updates.

I'm not sure I want to go down the custom rom as the wife loves the phone the way it is so i don't want to alienate her by doing that.

Any suggestions?

wizzrah

Retired Ambassador
Jul 27, 2013
Visit site