Thinking of buying a HTC One X

TarekElsakka

Oct 28, 2012
Visit site
Hello there

I know this may be a stupid or odd question to some of you, but I am brand new to the whole Android scene. I've always been an iPhone user until recently when I started using BlackBerries. Now jumping from iPhones to BB was probably the biggest mistake I have done because BB is utter crap and not worth the money; I don't mind buying the cheapest BB possible and using it for just BBM (since that's the only thing that's good about it anyway). *end of rant*

I have recently helped out a friend of mine with his HTC Touch Pro (not sure if that was the model) by installing a new Windows Mobile ROM for him and it was fairly easy once I started reading on how it is done and watching some tutorial videos; am I to assume that rooting the HTC One X in order to be able to install customized ROMs would be a similar process?

I also found in the guide that there are a lot of ROMs to choose from, and some of them end with the words "Jelly Bean", is that like the latest official ROM from Google?

And ugh.. one last thing, where's the best place to get Android applications? Is there a store like the App Store, for instance? Please forgive me if this coming question may be against the rules, you can remove it, but is there anything like Installous, for instance? I didn't like having to dish out a lot of money for basic applications on the App Store, especially Maps ones which cost well over 60 bucks, CRAZY.

I still have the Bold 9900 as of the moment but I am considering buying a HTC One X tonight; I found one used (production date 5 - 2012) for only one month and still has 11 months left in its warranty and is in mint condition and for a very good price, so I think I'll go for that rather than dishing out a lot of money for a brand new one and then losing a heck of a lot of money if I decide to sell it.

Any information, tips, or advice would be very appreciated.

Thank you guys!

MangoPowah