gaps still present in current batches

BobR1908

Jun 17, 2013
Visit site
I went into look at HTC One phones today and was at the point of buying one. I am a big tech geek and have spent time with the Galaxy S4, Nexus 4, Note 2 among others and have been so impressed with the aluminum build quality of the HTC One that I almost had to have one.

I no longer feel that way LOL. Here is what happened......

I went into my local Best Buy and she opened one up so I could inspect it before buying. It had a clearly noticeable gap above the power button at the top of the phone. When I mentioned it and showed her she immediately noticed it. She offered to open up another and guess what? Same thing but the gap was even more noticeable. Needless to say she opened up 4 phones in total and ALL 4 had gap issues. Not what I expect when I am paying $650 plus tax to buy the phone outright. One thing for me to buy the phone and do something to cause cosmetic or physical damage but when I am spending that much money on a phone I expect pristine out of the box.

It was unfortunate because I REALLY wanted one BUT the positive is I am totally over the phone now after experiencing that. Some may feel/say it is minor and they don't care and to each their own but I really do care for a few reasons:

1. As noted when spending that kind of money on a premium top tier device I expect premium and top tier
2. A few of the gaps were very slight but two of them were quite significant and my concern would be about dust and the like getting in.

I know there are "zero gap" HTC One phones out there, I tried to find one but couldn't but those who do have one I am sure LOVE their phones because really it is the only negative I can say. If I had found a zero gap phone I would have walked out with one.

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
I don't have one? Sorry your store had the bad ones... Maybe these were the ones tossed by that FedEx employee? :D.