How to Root/ROM Your HTC Evo V 4g with HTCdev and Fastboot

sanman1185

Jul 21, 2012
Visit site
If you have to ask, then you probably also lack the skill set required to root your phone properly with what is required to unlock the Evo. Don't bother trying.

Now that's not nice, everyone has to start somewhere.

I root is basically graining access to ur phone so that u can make changes to better it or if ur not careful, flub it up. To be honest tho u want to do your research on it and set up

Android sdk
Adb
HTC sync (drivers)

Before starting, I made a video on how to root our phones for those that wanna see it done. Happy rooting!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d85ViBa0cJU&list=UU6yryTwW7kzEVZuBXnT-Bgw&index=1&feature=plcp

Sent from my Rooted HTC EVO V

Hell0Jell0

Jul 21, 2012
Visit site
Hi, I'm completely new to Android rooting, so forgive me if I'm making a dumb mistake, but I went through and did this (minus the s-off part) and whenever I open an application requiring root access, it says that that it does not have root access. Did I do something wrong, or is there some other step I'm missing? Answers are greatly appreciated!

twelfth

May 21, 2012
Visit site
Hi, I'm completely new to Android rooting, so forgive me if I'm making a dumb mistake, but I went through and did this (minus the s-off part) and whenever I open an application requiring root access, it says that that it does not have root access. Did I do something wrong, or is there some other step I'm missing? Answers are greatly appreciated!

There's no way for us to tell you what part you did wrong.

koopakid08

Mar 19, 2011
Visit site

Did you flash the su patch? Do you have an app titled superuser in your app drawer?

Sent from my HTC Evo V 4G

sanman1185

Jul 21, 2012
Visit site

Assuming u didn't flash the super user.zip or install the stock from that has it installed already. Watch the video above and see if u did those steps, its rooting using super user.zip not s-off or 4ext