S-OFF Achieved for Permanent Root (AlphaRev Team)

Dark Wizard Matoya

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site
Congrats to all you Dinc2 users who have been waiting for root, it was only a matter of time before the Android community came through for you. Now you guys can finally get some custom ROM (CM7!?) awesomeness. :cool:

RicanMedic78

Jan 29, 2011
Visit site
I'm still kinda new to the whole Droid thing, coming from a Blackberry. What exactly does "engineering bootloader" mean?

I'm in the same boat. I recent came from a BB Bold and now I'm a bit confused as to all the advantages of this. So far, all I can see as a benefit is that you can remove the bloatware Verizon drops on these devices. Other than that, I dont know the other benefits...

Dark Wizard Matoya

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site
I'm in the same boat. I recent came from a BB Bold and now I'm a bit confused as to all the advantages of this. So far, all I can see as a benefit is that you can remove the bloatware Verizon drops on these devices. Other than that, I dont know the other benefits...

Aside from removing bloatware you can use apps like Root Explorer and Adfeee Android, and you can also install and run custom ROM's. There aren't any ROM's for the available for the Dinc2 yet, but now that you have permanant root it's only a matter of time.

RicanMedic78

Jan 29, 2011
Visit site
Aside from removing bloatware you can use apps like Root Explorer and Adfeee Android, and you can also install and run custom ROM's. There aren't any ROM's for the available for the Dinc2 yet, but now that you have permanant root it's only a matter of time.

forgive me ignorance on the subject, but what is a custom ROM? And what is Root Explorer and adfeee Android???

davidnc

Super Moderator
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
forgive me ignorance on the subject, but what is a custom ROM?

A stock ROM is the version of the phone’s operating system that comes with your phone when you buy it.