Thinking of rooting...

rugbyua9

Apr 14, 2010
Visit site
Ok so I'm really new to this rooting thing as I picked up the Incredible after coming from a few years of loyal blackberry usage. I am thinking about rooting my phone. I am actually in the process of getting a new phone sent to me because of some issues with my optical pad... long story short, once i get my new phone I will sending this one back. My question:

Does rooting your phone void to warranty? (I want to try rooting my old incredible before i send it back when i get my replacement)

Can you un-root?

Thanks for clearing some questions up....

mclarryjr

Retired Moderator
Nov 2, 2009
Visit site
I would not root your old phone and send it back that way. You will need to unroot it before sending back because there is a chance Version could charge you for the new device. Rooting will void the warranty and since I haven't had a chance to root yet not sure what the process of unrooting is.

rugbyua9

Apr 14, 2010
Visit site
I think this is a valuable question to answer, since we all have devices still under warranty.

Yeah, damn. I don't think I will root my original device that I will be sending back after reading that. Thanks for the heads up.

Now the decision comes to: Will I root once I receive my new device?

I think all the stuff that comes from rooting is definitely awesome... I just love having the warranty on my device since it still is a top end device. Damn. Decisions, decisions.

drjrdemelo

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
Rooting WILL void your warranty (period).

Since we don't have "full root" it may be reversible at this point but if you're uneasy about doing it now just wait a few days and better things will be available... :)

borgey401

Mar 24, 2010
Visit site
Yeah, damn. I don't think I will root my original device that I will be sending back after reading that. Thanks for the heads up.

Now the decision comes to: Will I root once I receive my new device?