ROM Manager - Backups

belogical

May 23, 2010
Visit site
Hey all, I'm very new to ROM Manager and have a couple questions. I have my phone rooted and want to try out my 1st ROM, but not sure of several things.

#1 - I want to make sure I have the correct ROM Manager that everyone else is using. Is the one by ClockWorkMod the correct one?

#2 - When I run "backup current ROM", it asks for a name, I click OK, it reboots and goes to a screen with a ? mark (over a phone icon?), and then seems to do nothing, and boots back into the OS. What am I doing wrong?

FYI, when it reboots, I go in to "manage and restore backups" and nothing shows up, so I assume the backup failed.

#3 - I assume I need this backup to be successful, to be safe, before I should go further, correct?

omgbeav

May 6, 2010
www.beavsgraphics.com
Hey all, I'm very new to ROM Manager and have a couple questions. I have my phone rooted and want to try out my 1st ROM, but not sure of several things.

#1 - I want to make sure I have the correct ROM Manager that everyone else is using. Is the one by ClockWorkMod the correct one?

That's the one.
#2 - When I run "backup current ROM", it asks for a name, I click OK, it reboots and goes to a screen with a ? mark (over a phone icon?), and then seems to do nothing, and boots back into the OS. What am I doing wrong?

FYI, when it reboots, I go in to "manage and restore backups" and nothing shows up, so I assume the backup failed.

There's your issue. You should get a lot of text scrolling up the screen and a progress bar. Did you flash the clockworkmod recovery?

#3 - I assume I need this backup to be successful, to be safe, before I should go further, correct?

Indeed. There are stock ROMs available, but none of them will have everything you've customized.

belogical

May 23, 2010
Visit site
There's your issue. You should get a lot of text scrolling up the screen and a progress bar. Did you flash the clockworkmod recovery?