1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Before I Flash my First ROM

I'm relatively new to this ROM flashing business and, before I flash my first custom ROM, I have three quick questions that I would be very grateful if one of you more advanced developers could answer.

1. Is it possible to return to the stock ROM (or on the DInc, HTC Sense) without unrooting, or would I have to unroot and reroot?
    2. What is the possibility of bricking my phone? I have seen a lot of warnings about bricking, but what is the actual probability that this will happen?
    3. By using Titanium Backup, how much am I actually backing up and how much will I have to do myself to re-customize my phone?

Thank you.

Global Posts
    4,265 Global Posts
    ROM
    CM-7

Jack

Both Virtuous and Nothing Special are rooted Stock ROMs with the bloatware removed. You can also return to full unrooted stock if you need to.

The only way to truly brick your phone is to botch a radio install. Hence the warnings around the radio. If you follow directions carefully the odds of bricking are very slim.

There are 2 methods of backup. Nandroid, which is a full image of you phone, is useful to recover from a problem. Always make a nandroid (clockwork backup) of a working system before flashing a new system.

Titanium will backup your apps and data in those apps. It will not backup screen settings and setups. Check out the What to backup when switching ROMs sticky for more.

Hope this helps.

Flash responsibly!
    Some say that his dormant chips were left that way for YOUR SAFETY... Others say that once "turned on," he can not be turned off... All we know is... He's called The Stig.
    Thanked by 3:
    Android Addict

ROM
    Stock rooted 4.1.2 JB

Exactly as PC said. But I want to stress backing up your current system before doing anything. That way if you flash a rom you don't like, you can always revert back to the way your phone is right now.
    @Android_Lee
    Galaxy Note III