Long time iPhone user trying to find the right Android phone

sonicresidue

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
Hi everyone. I've been reading this, and other, Android forums for several weeks trying to learn more about Android and the various devices available. I've been using (now antiquated) iPhone 3G since 2009 and was set on an iPhone 5 but thought I would look into trying something different this time around. I've been doing a LOT of research but have yet to find a phone that really grabs me. The only phone I've found I really like is the Asus Padfone2, but that isn't available in the U.S., at least not without paying way more than I'm willing to.

I've been looking at the Nexus 4, Galaxy S3, HTC One, Motorola Atrix, and occasionally looked at the Sony Xperia. None of them have really grabbed me. My biggest issue is bloatware and all the modifications carriers and manufacturers do to Android. On the other hand, I'm not against rooting the phone and installing a custom ROM. I jailbroke my iPhone so I'm not against modding a phone at all. I would just like to start with a clean slate.

Almost settled on a Moto Atrix HD, but I have read that although it's an 8gb phone, it only has close to 4 gb available for use. I did like that the OS didn't seem to be tinkered with too much. S3 is great, but it looks and feels a bit cheap in the hand. TouchWiz (and HTC sense) is just too cluttered looking for me. Otherwise it's a pretty slick phone. I love the concept of the Nexus phone, but am waiting to see some reviews first. I am a bit concerned about LG's build quality, and an early review knocks the call quality (I do need my phone to be a good PHONE as well!).