1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Hello

Hello moderators,

I am a grey beard to IT (19 years), but just bought my first smartphone (Note 2) and am a total noob as it pertains to Android. Now that I have drank the cool-aid, I want more.

I would like to build a couple tablets for the kids to basically run the social apps, reader apps and maybe some of the android games. I would like to get as much of an Android Tablet experience as possible without breaking the bank (they are kids after all and have nothing right now). I could whip out the Credit card and start buying ready to go Nexus 7s at $200 a pop, but I am poor as I one of the ones that missed becoming a Dot-Com millionaire twice (during the 80s Dot-Com bubble, and it doesn't look promising for this new one.) Buy the way, I have a wife and four kids besides myself that want one. That sounds like 4-6 copies. If I am successful obtaining one at a reasonable cost, I may rinse and repeat as many times as I need.

Since I speak a little geek (with the older dialect), I thought I might find a community to walk me through building a couple low cost tablets (lower cost but I would like to have as much of an open Android experience as possible). I am willing to learn and am willing to take the risk. I just need two things: 1). find out what is the best / easiest / most successful tablet to buy at a low cost and hack 2). where do I need to go to get the info concerning hacking the particular model in #1.

If you could help me find the community that I need to be in, I would be grateful.

Sincerely,
    M. Scott Blalock

Default Re: Hello

Well we have forums here about each tablet and hacking them so read around as for what tablet you might wanna use.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3