1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Maemo & iOS immigrant here

Hi! I'm relatively new to Android (not counting the one in VirtualBox, though ), Maemo & iOS immigrant (didn't really like the iPhone, I do still use the iPad, and I'm not letting go my faithful Nokia N900 just yet until I sort everything out on my brand new Samsung Galaxy Note II bad-*** "phone"). Will probably have lots of questions in the beginning, especially since I like to be in control of my "toys".
    The first few days of use have also convinced me that I should probably root my phablet during the following days.
    OK, let's go then...

Default Re: Maemo & iOS immigrant here

Welcome :-D

Tom

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Global Posts
    13,918 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock Moto X

Quote Originally Posted by Continuum88 View Post
    Hi! I'm relatively new to Android (not counting the one in VirtualBox, though ), Maemo & iOS immigrant (didn't really like the iPhone, I do still use the iPad, and I'm not letting go my faithful Nokia N900 just yet until I sort everything out on my brand new Samsung Galaxy Note II bad-*** "phone"). Will probably have lots of questions in the beginning, especially since I like to be in control of my "toys".
    The first few days of use have also convinced me that I should probably root my phablet during the following days.
    OK, let's go then...
    Welcome to Android and the forums. While rooting and flashing ROMs sounds like fun (and they are) I would suggest to wait until you are comfortable with the device before doing so. If you decide to do those things; 1. Read all instructions. 2. Make absolutely sure the ROM/root procedure is for your exact device (International ROMs on US phones are almost certain to bad news), and if possible, 3. Have a backup stock ROM so that if there is a bad flash, or you don't like the ROM, you can start over fresh. With a Samsung device, ODIN will be your best friend.