Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By dstackmasta27
  • 1 Post By dstackmasta27
  • 2 Post By dstackmasta27
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Hello Android Central Community!

I'm a newbie to the forums, and as recommended by Mr. Streater , I would love to introduce myself and give a little background.

My journey with smart phones began a number of years ago with the Palm 700p. I then enjoyed an HTC Hero with Android 1.6 (later updated to 2.3 which basically ruined the phone). In 2012 I moved to an iPhone 4S, which I loved as the best phone/mobile device I had ever owned. That continued up to the point when I updated to iOS 7, which I liked almost nothing about. Because of the failure that I felt was iOS 7, when it was time to upgrade my device (which I also switched carriers too) I started putting serious consideration into giving Android another shot.

I didn't dislike it the first time, but as my device aged the functionality also degraded to the point where it was almost unusable by the time I was ready to upgrade. I didn't experience such degraded functionality or performance in my iPhone, which was one of the things I loved so much about it--the hardware was completely solid for the two year cycle that we revolve our phones around.

To prepare myself for the trip to get a new phone and carrier, I started reading about the various "hot" phones in the market and narrowed my selection down to three: HTCs One, LGs G2, and the iPhone 5S. I went around to the store about a week before Christmas, which worked perfectly for me because it took me almost the entire wait time to decide on a phone as I walked back and forth holding, examining, and testing the functionality of all the devices. In the end I picked the LG G2, I liked a lot of things about it, and in the end if I ended up hating it I could return to the store and swap it with the iPhone for a $35 restock fee (plus the difference in phone cost).