Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Hi! New to Android, finally jumping up to a smart phone

Hi there. I'm a new forum member. I just signed on with Verizon and got a Galaxy Note 3. It is at my house waiting for me to get home from work. My wife also got an LG G2. These are our first smart phones. I know, we are late to the game, but we didn't want to pay for data before now. Anyway... A little about me:

I'm 26 years old. I am married and my wife and I have one daughter that is 17 months old. We have a second daughter on the way, due in May. I work as a manufacturing engineer in the heavy equipment industry. I am into cars, technology, photography, and tinkering on things. I build my own computers, which is lots of fun. I play video games. I play trumpet and play in a local big band in the Peoria, IL area.

These are our first smart phones. We have resisted the urge to go with smart phones mainly because we didn't want to afford any of the data plans. Plus, we had an iPod touch, a netbook, laptops, etc. so we really weren't missing out on much at home in the way of staying connected. We were sprint customers, but the coverage was terrible in our area. We switched to Verizon and finally joined the 21st century with smartphones Our previous phones were slider messaging phones that were utter pieces of crap. I will be glad to see them go.

I am completely new to Android, so I have a lot to figure out. I am familiar with iphone OS just because of my out of date ipod touch, but I am by no means an iphone fanboy. I'll have a lot to figure out when it comes to Android. It sounds like Android is way more customizable and has way more options then a iOS. I'm looking forward to my note 3 and all the possibilities that the s-pen and large screen will give me.
    Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon