Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default how to save your battery life

EXTEND THE BATTERY LIFE OF YOUR ANDROID PHONE

I'm relatively new to Android smartphones. Fact is, I just got one five months ago, but being somewhat of a computer nerd I spent hours clicking and exploring, reading online to get myself up to speed.

One of the first problems I saw and read about was battery life. While these devices offer stunning amounts of power and capability it comes with a stiff price on your battery.
    Here are some basic instructions as to how you can extend your battery, as a newbie, and without any complex operations.

BASICS

1. From your home screen, place your finger at the very top and drag down to the bottom of your screen.
    You will see a list of current notifications, (if any) but above that are icons aross the top of your new page.

Typically they are - Wifi, Location, Sound, Screen Rotation and Bluetooth.
    If you scroll across to the right you will see more.
    Blocking Mode, Power Saving, and some other network icons. Don't bother with those right now.

2. What to do with these icons?

First off, how to control them.
    If you touch one, it will turn that service on or off. If it is colored it is on, if it turns grey it is off.
    If you touch and hold one of these icons, it will open options for that setting.

3. Let's go through each one.

Wifi - this consumes power. Touch it once to turn it off when you are out of range of a wifi connection. Eg., on the way to work.

Location - this consumes power. Touch it once to turn if off if you are not using navigation apps, or need the phone to be pin pointed or tracked. Eg., most of the time leave it off until needed.

Sound - you likely want to receive notices and calls, so should be left on.