68 Global Posts

Default 2.2?

is this phone going to get 2.2?
    Coffee Addict

Global Posts
    710 Global Posts
    ROM
    CM9/Franco Kernal

maybe.. I wouldn't put too much stock in it though. This is LG's first android phone for verizon so you would hope they want to see it do well (and it should handle 2.2) but it all depends on how much Google/Verizon pressure them to update it.
    I'm a tech junkie with a weak spot for Good Music, Good Beer, and Excellent Coffee.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Global Posts
    68 Global Posts

honestly how do you like this phone... how does it compair to the moto droid
    Grand Master Moosc

Global Posts
    5,515 Global Posts
    ROM
    AKOP M4 old geezer theme

Just read this from the LG forums. It states the Alley will get 2.2

Global Posts
    659 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock!

Tmak04,

If you do a YouTube search you will find a couple of videos comparing the Moto Droid to the Ally. Do you already have a Moto Droid? If so, I wouldn't recommend replacing it with an Ally. I'd wait for the Droid 2. If you are looking to get into Android cheaply and are a tinkerer I would recommend the Moto Droid. It's been around for a long time and there are a number of ROMs available as well as methods to overclock the CPU. Either way, I think both phones are great...just different.

Steve in CT

Global Posts
    48 Global Posts

If the phone is for an Android "rookie" (someone new to Android and not necessarily thinking about rooting their phone), the Ally makes for a great starter, especially if you're a fan of Big Red's network. If migrating from another Android phone, then the Droid 2 (possibly the X, if you need a larger screen, or the Samsung Fascinate if you want the ****-kicker combo of S-AMOLED and Android on VZW) would make more sense than the Ally or even a Droid.

Quote Originally Posted by PGHammer21A View Post