Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
08-13-2014 02:45 PM
7 replies
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By acejavelin
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default ROM recommendations

I am a newbie to custom ROMs, I am looking for a ROM which will increase battery life and also let me remove bloatware, a new UI will be a bonus but so many of the custom ROMs I have come across have so many unnecessary bonus features. I am looking for any recommendations for a ROM?

Thanks

Default Re: ROM recommendations

SlimKat works really well on the G2 - I had that on my G2.
    Also try Phandroid Android. Mahdi ROM is also a big hit these days.

Honestly, without a lot if tweaking with the kernel, syncing, location settings, you won't beat the stock ROM easily work aftermarket ROM for battery life.

AICP and Beanstalk are very nice, but they are very feature heavy... As mentioned by the previous poster, Paranoid Android and SlimROM are very good and very "basic" Roms, as is CyanogenMod.

Sent from my Nexus 4 powered by Beanstalk ROM and Hellscore kernel
    ol chap likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by JozayG2 View Post
    I am a newbie to custom ROMs, I am looking for a ROM which will increase battery life and also let me remove bloatware, a new UI will be a bonus but so many of the custom ROMs I have come across have so many unnecessary bonus features. I am looking for any recommendations for a ROM?

Thanks
    Perhaps a entire ROM isn't needed for what you want, for battery life I recommend DU battery saver and it's lower CPU frequency mode or the xposed framework module (which I can't remember the name of) called "battery booster" has a yellow battery icon.

For the bloat ware you can get "root Uninstaller" from the Google play store which can remove any app (has a red trash can icon)