Lag while taking pics and quick drain battery

joeynox

May 8, 2013
Visit site
Hello I received my G2 last night and tinkered with it for around 10 minutes . I'm new to android coming over from wp8 which I love (nokia920). I've had a horrific experience with Nokia 920's even though I love the OS and phone. Since Nov 2012 I've been through 6 920' due to firmware screwing up the phones and general defects that caused issues. After ******** to att they offered me any android phone I wanted for $50. I chose the g2. I've read great things about the camera and battery but after a measly 10 minutes with the phone I'm not impressed. I turned the phone on it was at 95% all I did was turn off GPS,NFC,something else , took 2 pictures and scrolled through the settings a bit and the phone was at 87%. Is this normal for a new phone? Also when panning back and fourth while taking a picture there is alot of lag in live view of the screen. I'm coming from the Nokia 920 where everything is real time, no lag and this is just horrible. I didn't delve into the settings so its possible its just some thing I have to turn off but is there noticeable lag on the live view screen while taking a pic?

Also since I'm new to android what should I do yo maximize my battery life which is the second reason why I chose this phone? I'm currently on the Nokia because I need to import all my stuff into the LG

Sent from my RM-820_nam_att_100 using Tapatalk

Gekko

Banned
May 15, 2010
Visit site
1. the battery % is not linear and not really 100% accurate - it's a rough estimate - so don't get too fixated and obsessed on the exact percentages.
2. give your device/battery a few charge cycles to get calibrated and things should get a little better.
3. camera shots with flash and HD consume a lot of battery.
4. can't speak to the lag but the G2 from what i've read has challenging UI bloat.
5. i would seriously consider returning it and get the Samsung Galaxy S4 or Samsung Galaxy 2 or 3.