Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By xocomaox
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Lock Screen Notifications - Light up screen??

Hi,
    I am brand new to android (from iphone) and am just wondering is there any option to turn on notifications on my lock screen so that when I receive texts or missed calls or even bbm messages or other apps my screen actually lights up?? Previously on iPhone it would always light up on any notification I had so I am aware of it..on the G3 I can wear a sound or vibrate if on that mode, but the no light up makes it really difficult and annoying for me to be able to know exactly when I get a message or alert. I am thinking there has to be an option however I have not been able to find it...my friends on the galaxy S5 have the option to also so maybe its just a G3 thing??

Default Re: Lock Screen Notifications - Light up screen??

Welcome to Android Central! There are a number of apps on the Play Store that can help. Try DynamicNotifications or SMS WakeUp.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

so there is no option just on the phone itself? i have to download an app to do that??

Probably. Having the screen light up for notifications is not a native function of Android (it's not an option on Nexus devices, which run what is essentially unaltered Android). Maybe some manufacturers' customized Android UI might have this option built-in, but keep in mind that the basic Android OS is not meant to be all things to all people. That's why there is a robust app store with over a million apps, and you can find almost anything you might need for your preferences.

Quote Originally Posted by whackg View Post
    so there is no option just on the phone itself? i have to download an app to do that??
    Depends if you want to root or not.

Posted via the Android Central App