Proper back up for a system reset

gtcharlie

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
I am fairly new to Android coming from iPhones all my life. Love my new LG G3 and for the most part am pretty comfortable with Android due to the fact that I have owned a Nexus 7 for about a year. Recently experienced a strange thing where my battery was draining almost 50 percent overnight due to the operating system. After trying numerous things and with the help of the community I arrived at the conclusion a factory reset was in order. Thankfully that solved the issue and my battery is losing less than 2 or 3 percent overnight.

Here is my question. What is the easiest way to restore the phone and get it back as close as possible to how it was before the reset? With an iPhone you are able to wipe it clean and then restore it from an iCloud backup and it pretty much is right back to where you were. I did have the backup done on the google cloud but that only redownloaded the apps into my app drower. It did not put them back on the screen as before. And it seemed all the setting did not retain themselves. Is there something I am missing? Should I use the LG backup that is provided on the phone as well or is there a third party app which does this? In case I ever need to reset again I would like to be prepared and simplify the process as much as possible.

Stwutter

Aug 13, 2014
Visit site
I haven't got the G3 any longer, but I performed a factory reset on one occasion.

I found the LG BU itself to be very good, and, as I recall, it also backed-up my home screen(s) so everything was pretty much back to where it was before. I also doubled-up, so to speak, and used CM back which is a cloud BU service just in case anything went awry.

It was a while ago so maybe someone else can give you a better idea. I've found that, generally, the manufacturer back-ups tend to work best on their particular handsets, for obvious reasons.

Nov 14, 2014
Visit site