Can I "break" my phone if I use a more powerful charger?

Jeremias Bermudez

Sep 7, 2013
Visit site
Last night I went to visit a friend and I didn't take my charger with me; my phone was about 4% so I asked to my friend for his charger; he has an LG G3 (with the original charger), I left my phone charging and in less than 2 hours my phone was fully charged...today I tried again and I had the same result, a very fast charge in comparison with my Nexus 5 charger, it takes more than 2:40 - 3 hours!
Now I want buy the same charger but I'm not really sure if I could "break" my phone or screw up the battery (or maybe explode :p ) using that charger.
What I should do? buy the charger or not?, the difference is really noticeable and I like the idea of charge my phone way faster!

SinfulDroid

Nov 7, 2015
Visit site
I'm by no means a battery expert but I believe you should be good. I use my iPad charger to charge my iPhone with no problems.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
The phone will draw up to the amount it's designed to draw, so if the stock charger only supplies 75% of that much current, it'll take longer than it should to charge. If you use a charger with more current capability (and that's the key - it's only capability - it doesn't force that much current through your phone), the phone will charge at its full rated current, so it charges faster. You could use a 10,000 Amp charger - as long as it's 5 Volts and has a microUSB connector on it - and the phone will still draw the 1 Amp or so it's designed for. (Your house is a 200 Amp "charger", but a 100 Watt lightbulb still only draws about 1 Amp.)

I usually charge my phones from my 30 Amp bench supply. That's enough to charge about 25 phones at a time.