A Great Opportunity - What do I need to know to test a carrier unlocked G4? I want to use on Verizon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Murph5150

Jul 31, 2010
Visit site
I was chosen to demo the LG G4 and create reviews and forum discussions based off of my experience. It is unlocked, and to make it work will require taking the SIM out of my Droid Turbo and installing it into the G4.

I've never done this before. Given the G4 is unlocked and will use my Verizon SIM, do I need to take any precautions? I have never used a phone that came unlocked before and I don't want to make any mistakes. Advice and suggestions would be great.

Thank you.

Posted via the Android Central App

Aquila

Retired Moderator
Feb 24, 2012
Visit site
re: A Great Opportunity - What do I need to know to test a carrier unlocked G4?

Carrier unlocked doesn't necessarily mean it'll work on Verizon. As you know, many OEM's create several SKUs that support different bands, etc. Otherwise, it should be as simple as powering your Turbo off, removing the SIM, powering it back on (makes Verizon's server realize that it is out), putting the SIM in the G4 and then powering it on.

SactoKingsFan

Nov 1, 2013
Visit site
re: A Great Opportunity - What do I need to know to test a carrier unlocked G4?

Does the Droid Turbo use same size SIM card as G4 (micro)?

Sent from my LG G2 running CM 12

tardus

May 26, 2014
Visit site
Re: A Great Opportunity - What do I need to know to test a carrier unlocked G4?

With Verizon it's a bit more restrictive than T-Mobile or AT&T. the device has to be "registered" with the carrier - as Assassin Droid mentioned.
I don't think it will do harm to drop the Verizon sim in the G4.

If worse comes to worse (I'm not saying it will be necessary) you can get a prepaid SIM from T-Mobile, ATT or a GSM reseller and use it as a wi-fi phone with the ability to make a voice call in a pinch. Or prepaid with data.