WiFi location?

When in an area without GPS signal (eg. indoors), can your OGP use WiFi-based geolocation?

• Total voters

natehoy

Sep 2, 2011
Visit site
**** EDIT **** Solution found

If you are experiencing the same problem (you have Mobile/WiFi location on but it's not working), turn it OFF and then to into Maps, whereupon Maps will complain that it could do its job better if Mobile/WiFi was on. When it takes you to the exact same screen as you've been trying to turn it on all along, it should now work.

Maybe I was doing something wrong, but I've been a programmer for 25 years and I think I understand how to check a checkbox, so I'm pretty darned sure I was doing it like I was supposed to. LOL

The last remaining issue - solved.

My apologies if this is a duplication, but I brought this up in another thread and got a couple of replies, and wanted to see if this was a widespread (if minor!) issue or if it's just a few handsets.

If you go indoors where there is no GPS signal, but you have a good solid WiFi signal, are you able to geolocate using Google Maps or the like?

To test:

- Go indoors or somewhere GPS does not work, but somewhere there is a good WiFi signal.
- Start Google Maps
- Press the "Locate Me" button.
- If you get a message "Location temporarily unavailable", then the answer is no.

Last edited:

natehoy

Sep 2, 2011
Visit site

I know it's supposed to, but it doesn't.

Except now it does. Son of a biscuit, now I look foolish! But I know I was doing it right.

OK, so here's what I did.

First (all weekend), I've been going into geolocation options and specifically turning OFF and back ON "Wi-Fi & mobile network location". in the hopes that I could get the "ON" setting to "stick". And the checkbox remained checked, but geolocation stubbornly refused to work.