Overheating really fast... anyone?

BrandonBetz

Mar 8, 2013
Visit site
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the Optimus G.I love the phone but quickly ran into a possible issue...

After running the phone for 5 minutes I get the screen dim issue everyone talks about. After 10 minutes of use the phone heats up to uncomfortable temperatures.After 15 minutes the phone starts to lag.

The issue happens while I'm just flipping through Home screens, texting, on the web, or anything else.

I replaced my first phone with a new one because LG stated that this should not be happening under normal use, and Sprint told me to replace it citing the same reason. I am worried because my replacement is doing the same thing.

Will this cause long term damage to the phone?Should I keep replacing it until I find one that works, or should I just get a new phone altogether?
Thanks for the answers and advice!

Brandon

Little Darwin

Jun 11, 2011
Visit site
First, there is definitely a problem if a phone overheats quickly..

My phone gets a little warm when I play Temple Run 2 for an hour, but otherwise, no issues with temperature. I run a couple of background tasks (security related) but otherwise apps that run only when I explicitly open them.

Is there any software that you load immediately when you get the phone?

Is there anything that seems to be chewing CPU and/or Power reported?

klokateer123

Dec 11, 2011
Visit site
My phone gets hot really fast too but only when playing games like hungry shark and stuff like that.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Android Central Forums

iFebby

Aug 4, 2012
Visit site
It could be a lot of different things but it could be bad cell phone reception? when I had sprint my device use to get really hot because it constantly trying to search for a single. Try using it in airplane mode with wifi on to see if issue persist. If not.I'd try getting another replacement

Sent from my SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2

Raptor007

Trusted Member
Apr 18, 2010
Visit site