Rooting- Any benefit to leaving stock?

poophead

Aug 11, 2011
Visit site
Hey All,

I'm brand new around here. I have been reading for a great deal however. I love internet forums... I have yet to find an issue there isn't a vast knowledge base (forum) for.

On to my question.

I have ver 2.2.1 LS670ZVC, I dodged the ZVD update, and as such, still have wifi.

Last night I rooted with drew's one click root. Worked really well. My question, and I have read the benefits of a custom ROM, are there any apps that allow you to take advantage of root with stock os?

I am very new to this all, and am very impressed with the vast amount of info available on this site.

I am not against custom ROM, just researching before I jump. I know I wouls have to go to ZVD to get support for the custom...

Just curious what I can/ could do on stock system.

TIA

Steve

PS- I thanked Drew in his thread, and posed the same question, but thought I might get more responses this way :)

uberjam545

Jan 20, 2011
Visit site
Well when your rooted on stock ROM theres really not a whole lot that you can do. You can use titanium backup to back up your apps and restore them but thats about all. You used to beable to do a cache to cache hack that would free up a ton of space but i don't think that even works anymore (on stock ROM), you can change your theme but there aren't very many around for use with stock rom anymore and its very diffecult to do it on stock rom anyway.

So in short pretty much anything you can do on a rooted stock ROM you can do way easier on a custom ROM so i would reccommend that you install a custom recovery so that you can start flashing custom ROMs and overclock to make your phone run even better than it already would on a different ROM, :)

im_electronic

Dec 2, 2010
Visit site
most of the custom roms that are currently out fix what sprint hadn't and give your device more life and options.