1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Total noob needing help

I am having a lot of trouble understanding exactly what I will need to go through to root my LG optimus S with 2.3.3 and ZVJ. Will I lose all of the data I have on my phone now, and apps and so forth? I understand what I will need to do is revert to ZVD, root from there, and then I can upgrade to ZVJ rooted, yes? I am studying networking, I have worked as support as an isp, albeit 10 years ago, I run a linux server at home to run mumble for games. I just have ZERO background with all of this phone stuff so I don't even know what the terms mean, like radio, stock recovery, etc. If you feel like it, if you have time, if you could just give me the actual steps I need to take, from start as my phone is now, to finish with it rooted with ZVJ, that would be awesome. Feel free to talk like I am an absolute *****, because as I said I have zero background with phone stuff. I just need to get the f^%$#&^%$ing stock apps off my phone so I can install stuff I will actually use. And maybe once I get this done, I can use the knowledge to maybe install a cool ROM or skin or whatever. If it will make me lose all of my data I don't want to do it. However if you can tell me how to back up my data I can do it, so I can save all of my numbers, etc. I can connect my phone to my pc so idk if there is an easy way to just back things up there, or what.
    Racer of Elevators

ROM
    Paranoid Android / CM7

Default Re: Total noob needing help

Welcome! Thank you for reading and asking before doing something too hastily.