Hi new user looking for help

Black_Lightning91

Jun 2, 2011
Visit site
First off I'm very new to smart phones and this LG phone so please forgive my ignorance. Second I have a US670 or the US Cellular version but from my understanding the S is the same thing. My question is I want to root my phone and tweak it but I am not recieveing Texts from certain carriers which requires an update. Currently I have android v 2.2, Baseband v US670ZV2.6040, Kernel v 2.6.32.9 My brother already had his updated and his is android v 2.2.2, Baseband v US670ZV4.6040, these are the only differences i can see besides the SW v on mine being ZV2 and his ZV4. If I get this update will it affect me being able to root my phone. Can I do this update myself or are there other possibilities to fix the problem like running a custom ROM. If you need any other info please let me know cause I really wanna mess around with this phone but I would like to recieve the text from other carriers too (cutting into love life here). Thank you to anyone who can help.

Cody

Black_Lightning91

Jun 2, 2011
Visit site
Also Im not a computer ****** but I dont know much about how they work or software or even hardware. I'm learning though just kinda hard to jump into cause it like all greek to me lol. I have been reading the Noob threads and stuff but I still feel behind? So if I ask you to explain more about something you post please forgive me I just dont understand what you are talking about. Also I tried to make this an edit to my first post but It just came up as a broken link??? Might just be my computer.

alexander641

Oct 8, 2011
Visit site
I just updated my "ROOTED" LG US670 to US670ZV4 and lost my root access. Im currently trying to re-root my optimus and having no luck using the standard rooting method. I read on another thread that update is a root blocker made by the manufactur.

Im still without root access and stilll looking for any kind of help.

basketthis

Nov 22, 2010
Visit site