Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Unhappy Problem with phone shutting itself off

Okay, first with the disclaimer. I am a noob to smart phones and typically assume user error when people have tech issues, and other then the issue I am about to bring up, I LOVE this phone.

Last week after having the phone for a few days, I came home and put it on the charger, and about 10 minutes later I need to use it and it would not come up. I took the battery out and it fired up. I charged it over night, and in the morning it did the same thing, I had to pull the battery out and do a "Hard Re-start". I thought about taking it back to Sprint, but thought maybe I had been impatient with it, so I started holding down the home key thinking maybe that was my issue (waking it from sleep, whatever). Well just now I was listening to music on Pandora, screen was up, gotta an email notice which I ignored, Pandora kept playing, and the screen went blank. I thought the screen had timed out, again no biggie. I tried to get it to come up, and it wouldn't. I would have thought it was off, but Pandora was still playing. After the song, Pandora quit. I tried calling it, nothing. Did the hard restart by taking the battery off, and it works fine again. Even though I love the phone, I don't know that I want to deal with that.

Any suggestions? Anyone else having similar issues?

Sorry if that was a rambling statement, but I figured I should give all the info I have.

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,

Mook

Remove all your installed apps and change out the SD card. The SD card that came with some phones was causing issues. And as we all know, a poorly coded app can impact a phone negatively.

Run it for a few hours with a different SD card and no apps just to see if it can happen again. Sounds like you can duplicate almost at will (by plugging it in) so try it.