[How-To] Get rid of the sprint ID button on the launcher

Dec 19, 2010
Visit site
Getting rid of the Sprint ID icon w/o rooting?

Hey guys, I tried searching and haven't found anything so here I am. I've never owned an android (used BlackBerry all my life almost), and am going to get the Optimus. Is there a way to get rid of that icon dfrom the bottom dock? I don't want to root because it just seems too intimidating to me. And I don't necessarily need to actually get rid of sprint id itself, just the bottom dock icon.

I've heard an app called launcher pro will let you take that icon off and replace it, is this true? If not, is there another way? I'm new to android but not dumb enough to need the ID so any help will be greatly appreciated.

KSmithInNY

#winning
Oct 7, 2009
Visit site
MatisMarley,

I merged your thread into this one to keep the information in a centralized place.

The gingerbread launcher will absolutely replace the stock launcher hence getting rid of the sprintid button despite what was indicated above. What you'll need to do is download a launcher from the market ... the 2 most popular aftermarket launchers are adw launcher and launcher pro. Two options, if you'd like to keep the vanilla android look and feel are gingerbread launcher and launcher442. GB launcher is pulled from the gingerbread release and launcher442 is pulled from the froyo release.

Either way what you'll want to do is:
1) Go to the market and download a launcher.
2) After launcher is downloaded and installed, hit the home button on the bottom left of your phone (looks like a house)
3) A screen will pop up asking you to chose which "home" you'd like to go to. This is where you should select your newly downloaded launcher.

Note: There is also an option to set the launcher as your default. if you do not chose a default, everytime you hit the home button this screen will pop up and ask you which home you'd like to go to.

Dec 19, 2010
Visit site