LGL55C Slider - FUBAR?

stoan2000

Aug 30, 2012
Visit site
Hello everyone, first I?d like to say THANK YOU to all those that have posted and helped others with their phones. This is a great site and you guys deserve much credit. I?d like to start by saying I have read just about every post I could find related to my issue before posting this. I have worked with PC hardware and Operating Systems for over 25 years so technically I have an extensive background but when it comes to Android Phones I am a total noob. I apologize for this post being long but I feel it would be good to explain what led up to my trying to install a custom ROM on my Straight Talk LGL55C Slider phone. I purchased this phone back east 4 months ago and at the time didn?t even realize there were different carriers (CDMA-S and CDMA-V) and bought a Sprint branded phone. When I returned home I realized that there are ZERO Sprint towers in my remote area. My temp workaround solution was to reactivate my old phone (which isn?t an Android) to make calls. Well being the inquisitive type I decided to start searching for a way to convert my CDMAS to CDMAV. After many phone calls and being told it couldn?t be done (which I know anything can be done if you just work hard enough) I found online instructions on how to change the PRL from Sprint to Verizon which should resolve my issue. I also decided I didn?t care for the stock ROM and wanted to install a custom ROM. I downloaded ROM Manager over WiFi from the Play Store and decided after more reading that may not be the way to go. I then found an article on how to use terminal emulator to install CWM 5.0.2.7 That?s where my headache began and has persisted for 3 days now, The phone will only boot into CWM recovery mode. I found a few zip files that claim to ?fix? the CWM boot loop issue but they all fail installation with a ?Downloading Program, Opening Program - Installation Failed (Status 0) message. I found a stock LGL55C ROM and tried to install that ? s