Subtle Ringing in silent mode?

arykka

May 5, 2011
Visit site
I am very new to the Android crowd. I've had a love/hate relationship with my Pre for the past 2 years. I recently decided to get the Echo. From what I've been reading, probably not the greatest Android to start with, but my husband's had a couple so far, and I liked my Pre better. I liked the larger screen of the Echo and the ability to have the keyboard on a separate screen than email/texts, but don't like the slide-out of the Evo Shift.

Anyway, so forgive me if I should know this, but I need some help and I can't find the answer anywhere!

When in silent mode or vibrate, I keep hearing the most quiet/subtle ringing. I can't seem to figure out what triggers it, but the only way I can get it to stop is to shut the phone down. I thought maybe it was a setting I had as an alert of some kind (mail, text, etc), but I can't seem to figure it out.

~Irritated Newbie

jasonkc25

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
Hmmm, once again, I have not experienced the issue you are having. When mine is set to vibrate or silent, I never get a ring, not even a really faint one. From your previous post regarding the rebooting and lock-ups, I'm wondering if you truly did get a lemon.

davem2421

Apr 19, 2011
Visit site
arykka, if you goto the market and download an app called "AudioManager Widget" by Smart Android Apps, LLC (free version will do just fine) its kind of like a master audio control for the device that might help you narrow down what could be causing that.

as jasonkc25 said I haven't experienced that issue either but will keep any eye on to see if I hear any talk about it.

hope this helps.

jasonkc25

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
I just realized that I got this post mixed up with another question in these forums by a user named Ayryyn. Sorry for the confusion.

J

JonniQuest09

May 9, 2011
Visit site