Nexus 10 or laptop?

Clendi

Oct 6, 2012
Visit site
I don't know if I should buy a nexus 10 and a bare bone pc so I can control it with splashtop or just get a laptop. Advice please.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Android Central Forums

bblaze

Android Powered Human
Nov 30, 2010
Visit site
Laptop would be more convenient but if all you will be doing is Web surfing and some email then the tab would probably be your best bet. It all depends on what you are attempting to accomplish.

Sent from my Samsung Proclaim using the AC forums app.

Yogi217

Jul 14, 2012
Visit site
I'm a grad student and I use a nexus 7 and wireless keyboard. I have a desktop at home with a big monitor for some projects, but I do just fine in class with a n7. If you have access to a desktop, then get the tablet. Try a 7 tab, I had a 10 and got rid of it because I hated holding it. It's much easier to hold a 7 when reading for long periods of time.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

anon(924308)

Aug 30, 2012
Visit site
If you need the full OS experience of Windows 7/8, just go with a laptop.

Word processing apps are decent, but nothing like MS Office. Barely any apps recognize the full functionality of external keyboards, which can get pretty tiresome. Evernote is the only one I've tried that recognizes CTRL + C/V/A--Kingsoft Office and OfficeSuite don't, and none recognize ctrl + z (pretty damn necessary in a word processor). Pretty cumbersome. If you need programs like Photoshop, you'll never find a decent app alternative. If you need a statistical package, you're outta luck.

But if you're just going to use it to consume media, take notes, stay organized, browse the web, etc, an android tablet will do just fine. As frustrated as I am with the limitation of apps out there, I know developers are working on better stuff as we speak. So hopefully in a year or two, we'll get some serious MS Office alternatives? Maybe Photoshop will make their app better?

tyson.clarke

Dec 1, 2011