Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Biggest Tablet Fail = Lack of Full Sized SD Card Slot

I am an amateur photographer. I have been holding off on buying a tablet for now, even though I think one would be great for what I do. But IMO the biggest fail of all the tablets out so far is lack of full sized SD card slots. These things are big enough now (the 10" sized one anyway) that the real estate needed for a full size slot is insignificant. I was waiting eagerly for the new Samsung 10" tablet, only to find out that it also has microSD.

These things are the perfect companion for digital photography, but you can't pull the card out of your camera and stick it in the tablet. FAIL!

As a photographer, I want to do two things with a tablet:

1. View images from my SD cards on the tablet.
    2. Use a tablet as a large sized live preview screen while shooting.

I would love to attach a tablet to my tripod, and get a live image display on the tablet, so I can check levels, focus, etc, on the bigger screen, rather than the 3" screen on the camera.

So I am waiting to see how good the Toshiba tablet is going to be. It might be my only choice. If there are others with full sized SD cards slots, let me know. Thanks.

Just a thought. Have you considered using a micro sd with the full sized adapter that many brands include? then you can pull the micro out to put into the tablet.
    Just a possible work around.
    Grand Master Moosc

Global Posts
    5,615 Global Posts
    ROM
    AKOP M4 old geezer theme

Toshiba tablet will have full size support acer has full size I believe asus has one on keyboard xoom u can plug in a SD card reader
  4. Thread Author  Thread Author    #4  

Quote Originally Posted by Charlesleonard View Post