Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Dual use Moto E?

I live in Los Angeles, but spend a good deal of time in England. I am about to make the leap from a flip-phone to a smartphone and thought I would start off with the Moto E. I am not sure which version to buy. I will be leaving Verizon and probably going to T-mobile as a provider.

Could I buy the World version of the phone, which I think would work best in Europe or do I need to buy the US version? FWIW, I live in Santa Monica, which is one of the areas where T-Mobile has changed their spectrum allocation around. I think this might mean that I wouldn't need the 1700/2100 bands. But I am a complete beginner at all this so I would be grateful for some advice.

Dan

Default Re: Dual use Moto E?

Quote Originally Posted by slamtry View Post
    I live in Los Angeles, but send a good deal of time in England. I am about to make the leap from a flip-phone to a smartphone and thought I would start off with the Moto E. I am not sure which version to buy. I will be leaving Verizon and probably going to T-mobile as a provider.

Could I buy the World version of the phone, which I think would work best in Europe or do I need to buy the US version? FWIW, I live in Santa Monica, which is one of the areas where T-Mobile has changed their spectrum allocation around. I think this might mean that I wouldn't need the 1700/2100 bands. But I am a complete beginner at all this so I would be grateful for some advice.

Dan
    Since you're in an area where T-Mobile has refarmed their 1900 MHz spectrum for 3G, you should be fine with the Global GSM model. I'm looking for a model breakdown to be sure which version has which bands.