Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By gtanner00
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Novice Android user

Hi folks I'm relatively new to android so need a few questions answered please.
    1. Emoji & group texts are not an option with kitkat at the moment so what's the best app to replace the stock sms?? I need one that text recipients DON'T need to have installed to get my texts.
    2. My phone vibrates when powered on and off, motorola say it always did that but I think it just started after kitkat, can it be disabled?
    I think that's it
    Last edited by NotJustAPhone; 02-09-2014 at 07:38 PM.

Global Posts
    8,954 Global Posts
    ROM
    Slim Kat 4.4.4

Default Re: Novice android user

Welcome to Android Central
    1. I think Textra should do the trick. You just need to install the emoji plug-in
    2. Every phone has this. It can't be disabled

Posted via Android Central App
    "We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology." - Carl Sagan
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Cheers UJ95x, great forum. I installed textra + emoji which did the trick BUT when I enter emoji in a text thew show in the sent text etc but they are not visible on the text the recipient gets i.e only text wording is visible. Any ideas?

Quote Originally Posted by Comerman View Post
    Cheers UJ95x, great forum. I installed textra + emoji which did the trick BUT when I enter emoji in a text thew show in the sent text etc but they are not visible on the text the recipient gets i.e only text wording is visible. Any ideas?
    Android does not natively support emoji below version 4.4. That means that if you send a message to someone who doesn't have KitKat they won't be able to see it.