Batteryguru

KWKSLVR

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
I'm a Complete noob at this...

Posted via Android Central App
Everyone starts somewhere! However, I recommend not rooting until you fully grasp exactly what's going on. Here are some quick tips in the battery life department that will help cut down on unnecessary partial wakelocks which will extend your battery life. I'm assuming you're having issues in that department?

1) Go through all your apps and widgets. Anything you have set to refresh on a time interval (like 5 minutes, 60 minutes, etc) change it. If you can live with it, set them to manual refresh. Anything that has push notifications that you can life without, turn them off. Example: The Sam's Club App. I can live without push notifications. Blackberry Messenger, I can't. Luckily the latter sips battery. Every time this stuff refreshes, they wake the phone up and all the other apps that only refresh when the phone is awake. AKA, everything.
2) Turn your vibrate/haptic feedback off as well as all the audible tones like clicking with the keyboard. These use a process called "AudioOut_1 or 2 or 3" and Android has a long time bug in it where this process can, well, will, cause partial wakelocks.
3) Go to: Settings/Location/Mode and set it to "Device Only".
4) Go to: Settings/Location/Google Location Reporting and turn everything off.