Moto X: Idle battery drain

anon(8312128)

Dec 4, 2013
Visit site
Anyone else suffering from idle battery drain? Mine seems to be getting worse. I went from 100% to 80% in 9 hours last night while I slept. I got maybe 3 or 4 notifications in the middle of the night and I always quit/swipe away all apps when I'm done using them. This just doesn't seem like normal battery behavior. I tried to download the wakelock detector app to see if that might point to something, but apparently you have to be rooted in order to use it, which I'm not. Is there an alternative method to trying to find a culprit? I love my phone but this battery issue is getting frustrating. I'm attaching a screenshot, but I'm not sure if this really tells the whole story. I'm a noob, so bear with me. I just don't know what to look for to find what's wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

On a side note, I have all the settings I can think of set the most "efficient" setting - screen brightness, pure black wallpaper, etc. But this stuff shouldn't matter considering my battery is draining at idle/asleep - not while awake and active.

Thanks

Attachments

• Screenshot_2014-01-11-14-21-38.png
    Screenshot_2014-01-11-14-21-38.png
    163.6 KB · Views: 140
Last edited by a moderator:

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
Re: Idle battery drain

What apps are giving you notifications overnight? Some apps like Facebook report your location, which could be part of the drain. I agree with B. Diddy...Wakelock detector doesn't work on Kit Kat without root.

anon(8312128)

Dec 4, 2013
Visit site

What apps are giving you notifications overnight? Some apps like Facebook report your location, which could be part of the drain. I agree with B. Diddy...Wakelock detector doesn't work on Kit Kat without root.

Overnight, I'm getting maybe a few Facebook notifications, Words with Friends, maybe several GMails, and a few texts.